nanaxcross.blogg.se

Cygwin guake
Cygwin guake












cygwin guake
  1. Cygwin guake install#
  2. Cygwin guake download#
  3. Cygwin guake free#

But your console window is still appearing in the middle of the screen - not very Quake-like. IfWinExist ]return Simply: if we're in Console, escape hides it.

cygwin guake

We want to launch the console if it's not active, or show it if it is. I've chosen to use the much-underappreciated Windows key along with the tilde - well, the backtick key, anyway: Win+`. What we want to achieve, at this stage, is to make the console appear with a hotkey, and disappear with the same hotkey - or, for a little more elegance, the escape key. But I will, for those with the desire to read further, explain my reasoning and steps.

Cygwin guake download#

For those eager to achieve the effect, scroll to the bottom of this instructable, download the files, install, and enjoy. I leave this as an exercise for the reader, or pedant, or both. There is, no doubt, more elegant ways to achieve the same effect. What I have put together below is based on a five-minute read of the documentation for the program and having a specific goal in mind. Disclaimer again: I in no way claim to be an expert at either program.

Cygwin guake free#

With that out of the way, we are free to begin configuration.

Cygwin guake install#

If you aren't able to install the programs, or you're having issues, check out the forums for the respective programs. I'm going to - potentially mistakenly - assume that the programs suggested have been installed to your liking in your preferred directories. Once you have collected your components, press onward. Optional: Cygwin, for that truly authentic *nix flavour. A Windows-based console shadowing application. I chose AutoHotKey, and the following Instructable will be based around that choice. What you will need: You will need: - A Windows-based Hotkey-enabler. Disclaimer: As so many budding Instructable authors have said before me - this is my first, so be gentle on my poor ego. So I turned to a couple of Lifehacker favourites to achieve a simple facsimile of the effect.

cygwin guake

Without any coding skills to my name, I needed something easy. Heartbroken, I found myself searching for a solution. While *nix users get to enjoy such marvels, we who choose to slum on the Windows platforms are left without said nifty gadgets. Neat and tidy, easy to use, and extremely helpful. Tilda provides a drop-down console for *nix-based systems, in a style familiar to players of First-Person shooter games - press the Tilde (~), and the console appears at the top of the screen, ready for input. As a regular Lifehacker reader (albeit one who rarely enacts the excellent tips within), my attention was brought some time ago to Tilda.














Cygwin guake